So long

 
Like a dream you fade.
An extra mile under your wings.
About the place there’s not much
Your poetry can tell:
There will be tourists, I suppose;
Spiders dreaming of cities
Marching behind a comet’s tail;
Ghosts from ancient ruins.
 
Only you have an extra mile.
Unlike them you knew where to bury your wings.
Yours will be a short journey.
 
 
To a poet-mentor Alfredo O. Cuenca, Jr
(April 2, 1937–December 25, 2013)
One thought on “So long”

  1. He was never my professor but when I learned he passed away, I was saddened. I often see him around PUP but I don’t even know that he’s an award-winning poet. He’s cool. Browsing for his works now.

Leave a Reply

